A study guide for the DLD broker exam. Not official DLD material; DLD does not publish the exam format — details are based on our brokers' experience. Updated: 14 Oct 2026. All guides · Glossary
In brief: DLD requires a broker to work through electronic “smart” contracts: A (seller — broker, the advertising permit is based on it), B (buyer — broker, “agreement of desire to purchase”), F (seller — buyer, created by the seller’s broker and containing the final price). Contracts and the Green List are in Dubai REST (log in via “Business User → Dubai Brokers”); licences, cards, permits, violations and an F dispute are in Trakheesi. Advertising without a permit with a QR code is prohibited (a fine of 50,000 AED for no QR); DLD does not welcome cold calls to owners outside the Green List (circular 02-2026) — they must be handled carefully, otherwise there will be complaints.
Three layers of sources
The article distinguishes between three things, and it is important not to confuse them in the exam:
- Officially (DLD): Practice Guide 2024, the “Journey” for Contracts A/B/F, Trakheesi User Manual 2025, e-services pages and FAQ, RERA circulars, Bylaw 85/2006.
- Exam experience: answers accepted by the test system. DLD does not confirm some of them in writing (for example, there is no “3 Contract A” limit in official documents).
- It is stricter than the law, and that is normal.
Where the layers diverge, ⚠️ appears below and everything is compiled in the “Where sources diverge” table.
Contracts: who is with whom and what is inside
| Contract A | Contract B | Contract F | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Parties | Seller and brokerage office (marketing agreement) | Buyer and broker (“agreement of desire to purchase”) | Seller and buyer (sale agreement) |
| Who creates it | Seller’s broker | Buyer’s broker | Seller’s broker, from the approved A page |
| Who approves it | Owner (signing link) | Buyer(s) | Owner (owner approval in the “Journey”; the buyer’s broker does not approve) |
| Creation fee | No (exam) | No (exam) | No separate creation fee is described; the form has a “DLD fee details” step with transaction fees |
| Commission in the contract | Yes | Yes | No (there is no commission step in the “Journey” for F) |
| The main thing it provides | Right to advertise, permit | Recording of intent | Final price, deposit and terms, basis for registration |
What is “inside”: A and B together contain property details, tenancy details and finance information details; the seller’s personal details in A and the buyer’s personal details in B are separate (exam: “Property details, tenancy details, finance information details” are common to A and B). F “shows” the sale price (exam); the actually paid price is shown by the Title Deed (it is not in A, B or “Contract I”).
Contract A
How the broker creates it (official “Journey”): Dubai Brokers → Contracts → Create Contract A → seller type (company/owner) → current Title Deed details (number, year, property type) and owner verification by Emirates ID, date of birth or passport → property details → confirmation of owner details (if contacts are outdated, the broker can amend the contacts in the contract) → confirmation that there is no Ejari on the property → financial details → commission and term → upload of the NOC signed by the owner → preview and terms → “Submit for approval”. A link is sent to the owner; after approval, the broker searches for the contract with the Search button and downloads the PDF (the file is password-protected).
How many Contracts A per property. Exam experience: a maximum of 3 active A contracts from different offices; unlimited options and “4 with one office” cannot apply. ⚠️ The number 3 is not in the official documents in our set (the Practice Guide does not expressly describe the limit); the key relies on an operational DLD rule confirmed by the portals. DLD FAQ provides the general rule: under an exclusive agreement, the property cannot be given to another broker; under a non-exclusive agreement, it can be given to several.
Money. The broker and owner pay nothing for creating A (exam experience: “No fee for making contract A”). The commission is determined by agreement and, in its absence, by custom (Bylaw 85, Art. 27; DLD FAQ). The right to commission arises when the sale agreement is concluded and registered with DLD, unless otherwise stated in the agreement (Art. 28). If a property has several brokers acting independently and one closes the transaction, they receive all remuneration (Art. 32); if several brokers work together for one party, the commission is split between them as one party (Art. 31).
Permit — only for A. In Trakheesi, to sell a ready property in Dubai, you must enter the number of the marketing Contract A between the owner and the broker and pay the fee. Since 1 August 2022 (circular 01-2022), permits have been linked to electronic Contract A.
Contract B
- Created by the buyer’s broker; the buyer approves it via a link. There may be several buyers (the “Journey” has an “Add multiple buyers” step; exam experience — “Yes”). In the form: buyer details (Emirates ID, passport or registered owner), property requirements (type, area, budget, size, tenanted/not tenanted), finances (cash or financing, bank), buyer share, term and commission.
- Term. The minimum is 1 day; the system sets 2 months by default (exam experience: “default 2 months”, “minimum 1 day”). The official maximum is not stated in our documents.
- Fee: none (exam experience). Legally, B promises nothing, but it is a formal buyer representation agreement: a broker who has linked a client through B can confirm their rights (Contracts A, B, F: the full cycle, 3-contract limit per property, exclusive, “Give me the unit number”: how to check whether an agent has a genuine buyer).
- How many properties. Exam experience: “1 building with unlimited units” (low reliability; no official document describes this). Form B is rather a request (type, area, budget), not a link to one unit.
Contract F
- Who creates it: the seller’s broker, because F is generated from the approved A page (the “Create Unified Sale Contract (F)” button). The buyer’s broker does not approve F (exam answer and “Journey” wording: after confirmation by the owner, the broker searches for and downloads the contract).
- Link to B. In the “Journey”, at step 8, an “option to related active Contract B” is selected; exam experience considers that F can be created without B (direct buyer). The law allows F without B.
- What is completed: verification of the owner and sale share, buyer and share, tenancy details, finances, payment schedule (Payment plan), term, seller’s and buyer’s broker details, DLD fees, notes, Additional Terms. The list has no “commission”: in the exam, “commission is not specified in F, only in A and B”. ⚠️ But there is an arithmetic task on “seller commission in F” — this is merely a calculation, not evidence of a field.
- Additional owners cannot be added: “extra owners” are not permitted in F (exam experience: “No”).
- Deposit. Official documents do not state a minimum: DLD does not set a minimum deposit under Contract F, and according to the exam the seller may accept an offer without a deposit.
- F dispute. If the parties agree to refer the matter to DLD, the application is submitted through Trakheesi; the department holds a meeting and seeks to achieve an Amicable Settlement. If there is no agreement, the next step is court only. The basis is Bylaw 85/2006, Art. 34–35: the dispute board considers brokerage disputes only if the contract contains an amicable settlement clause or the parties later agree in writing. DLD does not issue decisions on contractual disputes (in RVS: “Complaints, contractual disputes … are not considered. Judicial bodies must be reviewed”). RVS also does not accept complaints concerning a contract concluded more than 6 months ago. ⚠️ Exactly when a broker may file an F dispute (while active or expired) — exam answers diverge (the test answered “expired”), and the official documents do not state this; do not include it in the test.
- Expired F and new A. Exam experience: for a property with an expired F and no active A and B, a new A can be issued (Yes). Answer “Yes” in the exam.
Contract I: not rental, but A2A according to the course
Trust rule and net listing (RERA course, Module 4). Until Contract F is signed and approved by both parties, the parties and their brokers do not see each other’s details. According to the course, net listing (the broker takes the excess over the seller’s “net” price) is illegal: a conflict of interest and an ethics violation.
Trakheesi and Dubai REST: what is where
| Task | Where |
|---|---|
| Office licence, broker cards, renewal, cancellation | Trakheesi |
| Advertising permit and its renewal/amendment | Trakheesi |
| Warnings and violations, fine payment | Trakheesi |
| Application for Amicable Settlement under F | Trakheesi |
| Contracts A/B/F, search and download | Dubai REST / Dubai Brokers (app and web: MyDLD) |
| Green List | Dubai REST (for brokers with an active licence) |
| Title Deed verification | Dubai REST (Verify Title Deed) and the Dubai Brokers app |
| Broker card verification | Trakheesi (Verify License and Permits), Dubai REST (Ecard verification), Dubai REST (broker details) — in the exam “all three” |
| Complaints (including cold calls) | RVS on the DLD website and in Dubai REST |
| Off-plan: is the project licensed and registered? | Dubai REST — Mashrooi |
An account in Trakheesi is created using the Emirates ID of the licence owner (or their authorised representative) or through UAE Pass. Step by step — Trakheesi: login, company account, users, warnings and fines, Agency License in Trakheesi: issuance, registration, amendments, cancellation, renewal. OTP at login is required for three risks at once: a former employee must not retain access, the role changes, and logins must not be shared (in the exam “All answers are correct”).
Verification of the Title Deed before any sale or rental is a requirement of circular 8/2016 (verify in Dubai Brokers). In the exam: “owner verification is mandatory for both sale and rental”.
Broker card: how much it costs
According to the DLD e-service (Issuance of a real estate professional practice card): broker card — 500 AED; exam — 700 AED + 10 + 10 (Knowledge and Innovation fee); ERES — 50 AED + VAT. A photo, Emirates ID, Dubai Police good conduct certificate, and passed exam are required. The card term is linked to the trade licence term. Exempt from the exam: over 55 years old, 5 consecutive years in one office, holders of a Start-up licence. ⚠️ DLD FAQ states the card fee when adding or renewing as 520 AED; the e-service states 500, a discrepancy to consider when calculating.
You may not conduct an activity without obtaining the required type of card.
Advertising: permit, QR, fees
- All advertising through Trakheesi. A permit is required for every type: newspapers, SMS, outdoor and transport advertising, print, electronic advertising, billboards, promotions, Open House, announcements, exhibitions, project launch, platforms, seminars. The permit number must appear on the advertisement.
- Fees: project launch — 5,000 AED, other permits — 1,000 AED, plus 20 AED Knowledge and Innovation fee; processing time — 1 working day. The broker must attach a marketing agreement with the owner. For an exhibition: advance booking 10,200 AED, 1,020 AED per exhibitor, sales at the exhibition are prohibited, and off-plan without escrow cannot be displayed.
- Ad limit in a permit increased from 200 to 500 at the same price (circular 1-2020).
- QR code is mandatory on all advertising materials (printed and audiovisual) from 15 April 2023, and the fine for its absence is 50,000 AED (circular 02-2023).
- Phones: use only numbers registered in the broker register in advertising and client communication (circular 01-2023); any other number is a violation.
- Company permit (Company Services) allows advertising of company services, not properties or projects.
- The same number on portals. In the exam: one property has one MLS/permit number across all portals; different numbers mean different properties. ⚠️ In the market, two offices with their own A receive different permits for the same apartment (the permit is based on the A number); for the test — “no difference” for one listing, for work — verify by Title Deed.
- Off-plan: a licensed and registered project, Escrow Account, and marketing agreement between the developer and office are required; money — only into escrow (Practice Guide; circular 02-2025 — QR with the project marketing permit in any advertising). Advertising real estate outside the UAE is prohibited (circular 01-2021).
Green List and cold calls
Green List is a list of owners registered in Dubai REST who consent to brokers contacting them about sale or rental. The service is available to all brokers with an active licence, and displays owners’ phone numbers and e-mail addresses. The practical rule in Practice Guide 2024: owners not on the Green List must not be contacted; the owner may file a complaint.
How to opt out: the owner personally disables the service in the Dubai REST app (not in Dubai Brokers and not in Trakheesi).
Circular 02-2026 dated 26.02.2026 does not welcome obtaining owner details “from third parties” and cold direct contact (phone, messengers) offering to buy or sell — except clients with whom the office has already had a transaction or agreement. In practice: call owners from the Green List and your own clients, write politely, accept refusal immediately, retain correspondence — otherwise there will be complaints to DLD.
An owner may complain about cold calls through RVS (website or Dubai REST); the response time is 5 working days.
The broker moved to another office
Exam (confirmed 3 times): active Contracts A and F remain with the previous office, which appoints another broker to replace the departing one. The exam answer excludes the options “the owner cancels” and “the contract cancels automatically”; transfer of the contract with the broker to a new office is also not accepted. There is no official text in our set; the closest rule is circular 20/2015: transactions are registered under brokers who actually participated (everything cannot be recorded under one person). What to do with old listings — Advertising permits in Trakheesi: new transaction, all types, rental, other emirates, renewal and Broker Licence: Where You Can Work, How to Obtain a Card, Where to File a Complaint.
Common mistakes
- Assuming that B or F “gives” the right to advertise → a permit is issued only for A.
- Calling an owner without the Green List and without a previous transaction aggressively or repeatedly after refusal → complaint to DLD; act carefully, accept refusal immediately.
- Advertising without a QR or with someone else’s phone number → 50,000 AED fine, violation under circulars 02-2023 and 01-2023.
- Going to DLD with a contractual F dispute → DLD reconciles the parties only with both parties’ agreement, then court.
- Answering in the exam “as we do it” where it diverges from DLD → the exam requires the answer from the key (see table).
See also
- Contracts A, B, F: the full cycle, 3-contract limit per property, exclusive
- Broker Card (BRN) in Trakheesi: issue, renewal, modification, cancellation
- Advertising permits in Trakheesi: new transaction, all types, rental, other emirates, renewal
- The seller has several brokers: what is legal and what leverage you have
- Advertising and Reels: What You Must Not Write or Show
- RERA Code of Ethics: What the Broker Is Responsible For and What They Are Not
- Broker Ethics and Duties: Official RERA Code, Bylaw 85/2006 and the Exam
Test yourself
1. Which contract is required for issuance of an advertising permit?
A) Contract B B) Contract F C) Contract A D) Contract I
Answer
C. The permit is based on the number of marketing Contract A; since 1.08.2022, permits have been linked to electronic A (circular 01-2022).
2. What are the minimum and standard (default) terms of Contract B in the exam?
A) 1 day and 2 months B) 1 month and 1 year C) No limit D) 1 year and 2 years
Answer
A. Minimum 1 day, default 2 months.
3. Who creates Contract F and who approves it?
A) Buyer’s broker; approved by the seller B) Seller’s broker; approved by the owner, the buyer’s broker does not approve C) Both brokers D) DLD
Answer
B. F is generated from the A page, so it is created by the seller’s broker; the buyer’s broker does not approve the contract.
4. The owner enabled the Green List and changed their mind about selling. How can they avoid calls from brokers?
A) Through Trakheesi B) Through Dubai Brokers C) Disable the Green List in the Dubai REST app D) Write to RERA
Answer
C. The owner personally disables the service in Dubai REST.
5. What will DLD do if the parties disagree over Contract F, and which court decides?
A) Issue a decision itself B) Hold an amicable settlement meeting (application through Trakheesi); if no agreement — court C) Cancel F D) Refer it to RDC
Answer
B. DLD does not adjudicate contractual disputes; without an amicable settlement, the parties go to court (Practice Guide 2024, Bylaw 85, Art. 34–35).
6. What are the fees for an advertising permit and a broker card?
A) All permits 5,000; card 500 B) Project launch 5,000, others 1,000 + 20 KIF; card 500 + exam 700 + 10 + 10 + ERES 50 + VAT C) All permits 1,000; card 5,000 D) Free
Answer
B. 5,000 AED is charged only for a project launch event permit, the others are 1,000 AED plus 20 AED. The card is 500 AED (the FAQ states 520).