# How to Become a Real Estate Broker in Dubai (2026)

> How to become a broker in Dubai: DLD exam, RERA broker card, BRN, fees in AED and the process for foreigners. DLD data, October 2026.

Page: https://continentalclub.ae/articles/become-real-estate-broker-dubai/ · updated 2026-10-27 · Continental Club Property LLC, Dubai real estate brokerage, RERA ORN 31933

Foreigners can become brokers in Dubai if they meet DLD conditions and work through a licensed brokerage. DLD is the Dubai Land Department. The path is: a qualification course, the DLD broker exam (unless exempt), then a broker card issued through Trakheesi on the company’s application. The card fee is AED 520. Data as of October 2026. DLD does not publish everything: the exam format, the course price and the total time from zero to a card have to be confirmed, and this is flagged below.

## How to become a real estate broker in Dubai: who can apply

A broker works within the regulated system of DLD and RERA, the Dubai real estate regulator. A person cannot practise brokerage before being registered. The company first obtains a real estate licence from Dubai Economy and Tourism (DET) and registers it in Trakheesi, DLD’s system for broker cards, office registration and advertising permits. The company then applies for the broker card.

### Can a foreigner work as a broker in Dubai

Foreign nationals may work as brokers in Dubai if they meet DLD conditions and work through a licensed brokerage. DLD’s FAQ states that any person may obtain a broker licence if the required conditions are met, and no minimum period of residence is stated.

When a broker is added to a company, DLD lists a qualification course, a valid certificate of good conduct from Dubai Police, a photograph, and copies of the passport and visa. The broker’s residence should be under the same company licence.

On the card service page, DLD does not state a minimum age, school certificate, degree or visa category for an ordinary broker. A single “21 years” or mandatory-degree rule should not be taken as universal.

The spouse of a foreign resident, sponsored by that resident, may work as a broker with the approval of the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation (MoHRE).

### Who may be exempt from the broker exam

DLD lists three exempt categories:

- applicants aged over 55;
- brokers who have worked continuously for five years in the same real estate office;
- holders of a start-up licence.

An exemption does not remove the need to work through a licensed brokerage or to meet the other card conditions. Confirm the documents for your case with DLD before booking the exam.

A broker can lose registered status by leaving the profession, by a break of more than 12 consecutive months without a recognised reason, or by providing false information in an application. According to a published summary of Bylaw No. 85 of 2006, no one may engage in real estate brokerage in Dubai unless licensed, and a broker not registered with RERA may lose the right to claim brokerage remuneration.

## Training: Certified Training for Real Estate Brokers

A qualification course is required before the card is issued; DLD’s FAQ states this. The course is commonly called Certified Training for Real Estate Brokers, also abbreviated CTREB or CTRB.

According to DLD’s training page, training is conducted in English, payment is made online through Noqodi (DLD’s payment portal), and participants receive a completion certificate. The course itself has no separate exam, but brokers sit the DLD exam after it: that is the next step.

DLD does not publish an official course price. According to industry guides, providers quote anywhere from about AED 1,575 to about AED 3,000. According to one provider’s website in October 2026, a four-day, 20-hour course costs AED 2,520 including VAT, in classroom or online format. Before paying, confirm what is included and which dates are available.

### What to study

DLD does not publish a list of exam questions. Preparation can use DLD’s Real Estate Brokerage Practice Guide, the Knowledge Bank and provider programmes. The guide covers broker relationships, smart contracts, advertising, Dubai REST, off-plan requirements and transaction documents.

It also contains calculation examples: converting square metres to square feet and a service-charge calculation that treats balcony area separately. Questions of this kind may appear in the exam.

Learn the basic English terms in advance: listing, commission, escrow account, permit, service charge, off-plan. You can practise in the [practice test with questions across 14 topics](/dld-broker-exam-practice/).

## DLD broker exam: registration, fee and format

The exam is often called the RERA broker exam. The booking is made by the brokerage company through the DLD e-service Exam Registration, not by the candidate alone. The company enters its trade licence number, DLD reference number, company name, email address, mobile number and the number of candidates, from one to five. Payment is made through Noqodi, and the Emirates ID (the number starts with 784) is used for registration. The form is available in English and Arabic.

### How much is the DLD broker exam

DLD publishes the fee components: AED 700, AED 10 knowledge fee, AED 10 innovation fee, ERES fee AED 50 and VAT. There is no final total on the service page, so check it at booking: totals in unofficial publications do not match.

### Format and passing score

DLD does not officially publish the number of questions, duration, passing score, exam language or retake rules. Based on the experience of our brokers who sat the exam in 2025–2026: 30 questions, 60 minutes, 4 points for each correct answer (maximum 120), and a pass mark of 76 points, which is 19 correct answers. DLD does not officially publish these parameters, so confirm them before booking.

Topics to cover: brokerage regulation, broker duties, contract forms, advertising and Trakheesi, working with sellers and buyers, calculations and commissions, off-plan checks, and Dubai REST. Questions may be built around working situations rather than plain definitions.

You can rehearse the format in the [free DLD broker exam practice test](/dld-broker-exam-practice/): 30 questions and a 60-minute timer. It is a learning tool, not the official DLD exam; it does not replace training and does not guarantee an exam result.

Practise by topic on the free [DLD broker exam trainer](/dld-broker-exam-practice/): [Real estate math](/dld-broker-exam-practice/real-estate-math/) · [Concepts and systems](/dld-broker-exam-practice/real-estate-concepts/) · [Laws and legislation](/dld-broker-exam-practice/laws-and-legislation/) · [Sale and brokerage agreements](/dld-broker-exam-practice/sale-brokerage-agreements/) · [Jointly owned property](/dld-broker-exam-practice/jointly-owned-property/) · [Rental and disputes](/dld-broker-exam-practice/rental-and-disputes/) · [Property valuation](/dld-broker-exam-practice/property-valuation/) · [Code of ethics](/dld-broker-exam-practice/code-of-ethics/) · [Registration and fees](/dld-broker-exam-practice/registration-and-fees/) · [Mortgages](/dld-broker-exam-practice/mortgages/).

Before the exam: the [DLD broker exam study guide](/dld-broker-exam-practice/study-guide/) (8 chapters) and the [Dubai real estate glossary](/dubai-real-estate-glossary/) (238 terms).

## RERA broker card and BRN

Once the requirements are met, the company applies through Trakheesi for the real estate activity practice card. The application needs a photograph, Emirates ID, a good conduct certificate from Dubai Police, and a passed annual broker test.

The fee is AED 500 plus AED 10 knowledge fee and AED 10 innovation fee, AED 520 in total. DLD states a service time of five minutes, but this is processing after the conditions are met, not the path from training to a card. DLD publishes no total time from zero to a card.

The card is valid as long as the company’s trade licence is valid. DLD does not state a term in months or years, so track the renewal date in the system.

Renewal also requires the annual test for the brokerage profession. The renewal documents include a passport copy, continuing education documentation and, where needed, a photo. The renewal fee is AED 520, and renewal can be done through Dubai REST.

### What is BRN

According to industry guides, BRN (Broker Registration Number) is the broker’s number in the RERA register. DLD publishes no separate fee, issuance period or standalone process for BRN apart from the card.

DLD publishes a broker register. According to industry guides, a broker can also be checked through Dubai REST, DLD’s service and app for brokers, by broker name or company.

## Your first steps as a working broker: Forms A, B, F and Trakheesi

A broker handles transactions through DLD smart contracts. Three forms are used in sales:

- Form A is the marketing agreement between a seller and a brokerage office;
- Form B records the buyer’s intention to purchase through the broker;
- Form F is the sale agreement between seller and buyer.

The guide focuses on Forms A, B and F. If you meet other historical form names, ask the brokerage which current DLD process applies.

Commission is agreed between the parties; where there is no agreement, DLD’s FAQ refers to market custom. It becomes due after the sale contract is concluded and registered.

Advertising requires a Trakheesi permit: online listings, print, outdoor media, classifieds, exhibitions and seminars. The permit number must appear in the advertisement. A listing should not be advertised just because an owner or another agent sent it; confirm that the advert is authorised.

Dubai REST is required for brokers and includes broker data, smart contracts, the Green List (the list of owners brokers may call) and off-plan project data through Mashrooi. For off-plan, a broker checks that the project is licensed by RERA and has an escrow account, and has a marketing agreement with the developer.

Calling owners who are not on the Green List is a violation and may lead to suspension after a complaint. Brokers and offices also face warnings, fines and black points.

## How many brokers work in Dubai

According to DLD, 32,294 brokers were registered in Dubai at the end of 2025, and 13,083 of them joined during 2025 (DLD press release of 9 March 2026).

A card and BRN confirm registration in the DLD system but do not replace practical skills. No course, brokerage or training programme can promise employment, commission income or an exam result. In the first months a new broker learns the company’s CRM, how to find and check properties, working with owners and buyers, Dubai REST, Forms A, B and F, and advertising permit rules.

New brokers usually work within a licensed company rather than opening their own. Discuss hiring, training, lead allocation and commission terms with the employer.

## How long does it take to become a broker in Dubai

There is no official total timeline from arrival in Dubai to a broker card. It depends on documents, the company’s hiring process, the course schedule, exam booking, the exam result and the company licence.

The card service itself takes five minutes after payment. DLD’s FAQ says a Dubai Economy licence can take one to two days with complete documents, but that is the company licensing stage, not the whole path for an individual broker.

Do not rely on promises of a fixed number of days or weeks. If you are moving from Russia, Kazakhstan, Belarus, Ukraine or another CIS country, start by talking to a licensed Dubai brokerage about its hiring process, documents and training plan. Visa and immigration questions are for qualified specialists and DLD.

## FAQ: becoming a broker in Dubai

### Can a foreigner become a real estate agent in Dubai?

Yes, if the DLD conditions are met and the broker works through a licensed company.

### Is the RERA broker exam the same as the DLD broker exam?

The exam is commonly called the RERA broker exam. The official registration service is DLD’s Exam Registration, submitted by the brokerage company.

### How much is the DLD broker exam?

AED 700, AED 10 knowledge fee, AED 10 innovation fee, ERES fee AED 50, plus VAT. Check the final amount at booking.

### What is the passing score for the DLD broker exam?

DLD does not publish it. Based on the experience of our brokers who sat the exam in 2025–2026, the pass mark was 76 points out of 120, which is 19 correct answers out of 30; confirm before booking.

### What is a broker card in Dubai?

An electronic real estate activity practice card issued through Trakheesi. It links the broker to the licensed company and its trade licence.

### What is BRN in Dubai real estate?

Broker Registration Number, the broker’s number in the RERA register. DLD publishes no separate BRN fee or timeline.

### Do I need to renew the broker card?

Yes. DLD provides a renewal service. It requires the annual brokerage test and continuing education documentation.

If you want to start a broker career in Dubai with a team that trains its people, [learn about Continental Club Academy](/academy/).

## Continental Club Broker Academy

Leave your contact if you want to train and work as a broker in Dubai with a team that trains its people: we will explain how training and work in our office are organised.

## Links

- Page: https://continentalclub.ae/articles/become-real-estate-broker-dubai/
- JSON: https://continentalclub.ae/articles/become-real-estate-broker-dubai.json
- Russian version: https://continentalclub.ae/ru/articles/kak-stat-brokerom-po-nedvizhimosti-v-dubae/ (Markdown: https://continentalclub.ae/ru/articles/kak-stat-brokerom-po-nedvizhimosti-v-dubae.md)

How to cite: "How to Become a Real Estate Broker in Dubai (2026) — Continental Club Property, 2026-10-27, https://continentalclub.ae/articles/become-real-estate-broker-dubai/"
